

Meeting Minutes

Name: 78th National Convention, St. Louis, Missouri

Date & Time: 16 August 2023, 10 AM. First Business Meeting

Presentation of the Colors by Scott AFB Color Guard

Opening prayer: Chaplain Kennith Harvey

Opening Remarks by President Joseph McNeil

Reading of Rules Committee to General Assembly

Approval of agenda

Motion:

Second:

Vote results

Approval of 77th Convention Meeting

Motion: Jerry Quinlan

Second: Guadalupe Guerra

Vote results: Passed

Unfinished business No Unfinished Business Brought Forth

New Business

1. By Law's and Resolution Committee Report

Stephan Butler, JAG and Tracy Ferro, Treasurer were informed they would be presenting report.

Roll of Representatives was taken

Article 6, District Directors Amendment

Moved to Floor

Article 9, Convention Amendment

Moved to Floor

Article 10, Dues

Moved to Floor

Article 17 Withdrawn

No Resolutions presented at this time.

2. Nominations opened for National Officers

President:

Paul Mimms. // Accepted

Vice President

Elizabeth Holmes //. Accepted

Wade Davis //. Declined

Secretary

Tracy Ferro. //. Accepted

Treasurer

Joseph Bogart // Accepted

Warner Murray //. Accepted

Monica Gilmore. //. Unavailable / Not Eligible

Open discussion

Adjournment till 9 AM Friday, 18 August 2023

Date & Time: 18 August 2023, 9 AM. Second Business Meeting

Call to Order

Presentation and Voting on proposed By Law Amendments and Resolutions

Article 6, District Directors Amendment

Motion. Guadalupe Guerra

Second. Brian Harris

Results: Failed

Article 9. Convention Amendment

Motion. Brian Harris

Second. Eduardo Miranda

Roll Call vote Yays: 1595. Nays: 2994. Failed

Article 10. Dues

Motion. Douglas Ingram Second Paul Mimms

Results. Failed Article 6, District Directors

Resolutions presented to Convention Assembled

South Texas Regional Group concerning Caregiver Support Failed

Heartland Regional Group concerning Bronze Braille Flags

P.O. BOX 90770 ★ WASHINGTON, DC 20090 ★ 202-371-8880 (P) ★ 202-371-8258 (F) ★ BVA.org

Failed

Call for additional nominations for National Officers

Vice President

Wade Davis. //. Accepted / Resigned DD 4 Position

Secretary

Brian Harris //. Accepted / Resigned DD2 Position

Treasurer

Monica Gilmore //. Non Eligible

Elections of National Officers

President Paul Mimms //. Unopposed

Vice President Wade Davis 3767

Elizabeth Holmes. 760

Secretary Tracy Ferro. 2318

Brian Harris. 2201

Treasurer. Joseph Bogart. 3883

Warner Murray. 687

Swearing in of new officers by JAG Stephan Butler

Open Discussion

Adjournment called at 1:45 PM CST

DRAFT Minutes approved by Board of Directors with amendments, 19 March 2024 Board of Directors Mid Winter Meeting

Approved at (Date and Meeting):

Submitted by: